GLASSBORO >> The Rowan University women’s soccer team recently announced its 2019 schedule.

The Profs have a 17-game slate, with eight contests at home and nine on the road. The women’s soccer team travels to the University of Mary Washington for two games. Rowan finished with a 13-4-2 record last year and 6-1-2 mark in the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC). The Profs advanced to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament for the 14thtime and the fourth straight season.

“Our schedule for 2019 is challenging,” stated head coach Scott Leacott. “We have some stiff competition this season. Our nonconference opponents are extremely tough with NCAA tournament qualifiers Bridgewater College, Johns Hopkins University and Arcadia University. Washington and Lee University is always in the NCAA tournament discussion and has a strong tradition of being a great program.”

“We open up at home against Penn State Brandywine where Maxine New, an alum is an assistant coach, which is always great to see former players coaching,” continued Leacott. “The NJAC schedule is always tough and with the loss in double overtime with a minute left in the conference final, it has left a sour taste in our players.”

Rowan hosts Penn State Brandywine in the season opener on Friday, August 30. Last year, the Lions had a 13-5 record. The Profs play at Rosemont College on Wednesday, Sept. 4. At the University of Mary Washington Classic, the women’s soccer team faces Bridgewater on Saturday, Sept. 7 and Washington and Lee on Sunday, Sept. 8. Bridgewater finished 15-4-2 in 2018 and advanced to the first round of the NCAA Championship Tournament.

The Profs are at Alvernia University on Wednesday, Sept. 11 then they return to Glassboro against Johns Hopkins on Saturday, Sept. 14. Johns Hopkins made it to the second round of the national postseason and had an 18-3 record. Rowan heads to Arcadia University on Wednesday, Sept. 18. The Knights were 12-6-3 overall last season and they played in the national tournament first round. The women’s soccer team has its conference opener at home versus William Paterson University on Saturday, Sept. 21.

“Our team is young with a big sophomore class, who gained valuable experience last year and had a terrific spring season,” Leacott said. “We have some very solid returning players who have tremendous experience along with a very good incoming class. We had some holes to fill with the outgoing senior class, but we picked up some valuable pieces in the off season and along with the current players who are progressing nicely.”

Rowan has two conference road games at Montclair State University and Stockton University on Saturday, Sept. 28 and Wednesday, Oct. 2 respectively. Last year, the Red Hawks had a 10-4-5 mark while the Ospreys were 13-4-4 overall. The Profs are back home against NJAC opponent Kean University on Saturday, Oct. 5 and Eastern University on Wednesday, Oct. 9.

Rowan is on the road at New Jersey City University on Saturday, Oct. 12. The women’s soccer team is back in Glassboro on Wednesday, Oct. 16 against Rutgers-Camden. The Profs play at Rutgers-Newark on Saturday, Oct. 19.

The women’s soccer team has its last two games of the regular season at home. The Profs meet Ramapo College on Saturday, Oct. 26 and they face defending conference champion The College of New Jersey on Wednesday, Oct. 30. In 2018, TCNJ had a final record of 15-1-2. The Lions advanced to the third round of the NCAA tournament.

“We always have high expectations,” remarked Leacott. “We are looking to bring a great effort out on the field and take every game as it will be the last. We have had a great tradition of success here and the 2019 season is no different. We want to win the next game. If we take care of business, we will set ourselves up for the postseason.”

The NJAC Championship Tournament includes the top six teams in the conference. The first round is scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 2 and the semifinals are on Tuesday, Nov. 5. The championship game is slated for Friday, Nov. 8. The NJAC champion earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship Tournament, which starts on Saturday, Nov. 16.

comments powered by Disqus